waiting on spring

17 Jan

This post is a kind of style forecast. I’ve been longing for warm weather and spending too much time on fashion blogs lately so I made myself a hopeful lookbook. Here is one of those looks dissected:

The inspiration (photo from the sartorialist):

My take (a little more casual, a little more me):

Chatelaine dress, Madewell

Perfect leather belt, Madewell

The downtown field jacket, J Crew

The boardwalk brogue, Madewell

I love contradictions like the tough jacket next to gauzy silk, and men’s wear inspired shoes with a short skirt. The shoes  and jacket together would be too harsh without the soft dress. I might even switch the pebble brogues for some darker oxfords (just make sure they don’t match the belt that’s too much). I would marry the guy who appreciated this fit/picked it out for me.

Leave a Reply

