happy sunday

23 Jan

Everyone has a person who they worry about on weekend nights, and since I just got the “I’m alive” text I’m ready to go in on another breakdown. This outfit looks simple, just two or three pieces but It’s really all about the accessories, which I love.

Old photo from the Sartorialist:

My Take:

One-Sleeve Striped Power Dress, BCBG

Puffed Three Quarter Sleeve Blazer, Doki Geki

Peep-Toe Wedge Bootie, BCBGeneration

And now for the fun part…

‘Charlton’ Crossbody Bag, MICHAEL, by Michael Kors

‘Ancient Scroll’ Crystal and Bronze Bracelet, Barse

‘black-eyed susan’ flower ring, kate spade new york

Crystal and Rose Studs, Betsey Johnson

As with the other outfit breakdowns, these are suggestions and by no means do all of these elements have to be included all of the time. Personally I would hem that last red stripe off the BCBG dress, I like the more classic clean sailor stripe look. If you don’t feel like you have the legs to pull of those booties (read: if you have thick legs) go for some strappy wedges and get the same effect. I updated the jacket a little bit because it’s all about the slight puff instead of padded shoulders. I don’t usually like metallic leather but the crossbody bag is small enough to get just the perfect dose of flashy with otherwise subdued colors in the outfit.

I like the idea of two statement pieces of jewelry and smaller earrings and maybe just a simple gold necklace, one of your everyday pieces; if instead you want to skip everything else but pile on the bracelets that would be good too. As a practice i have sets of bangles in silver, gold, and a bronze or rose color so I can add them to big cuffs like the one I chose for this outfit.

 

I want to add another feature to this blog, a kind of reader style piece. Send me a picture of your outfit (on you or laid out, doesn’t matter), something new you don’t know how to wear or something old you want to update and I’ll offer suggestions, glowing praise and or ideas for complement pieces. sugarspiceannice@gmail.com.

 

Leave a Reply

